The true me

20158084_1387468464635941_4500688048216778777_o

Something about this saying, which I saw Facebook, really spoke to me…

After my ex walked out eight years ago I started finding myself. And no, I don’t mean in some weird spiritual sense where I traveled the world trying to figure out who I am…makes me think of the movie, Eat, Pray, Love with Julia Roberts who travels to various countries seeking to find herself or perhaps really seeking something more, but that is a whole other post. LOL

The day he walked out the door of the house we had moved to 6 years earlier, that was the beginning of finding out who I really was — who I really am. You see, the real me who had been buried for so long, 20 years to be exact, started coming out little by little, with each step I took down a long, hard, often lonely road. Layer upon layer of stuff was removed and slowly I discovered things about myself.

And the truth is, the harder the journey was, the more of me I found. The true me.

The me who was done being afraid to speak the truth.

The me who discovered how to feel again after years of repressing so much.

The me who learned what it was to forgive, but to move on and stop looking back for something that would never be.

The me who while being told was bitter and hateful, was actually unfolding into a loving more forgiving person.

The me who stood up and said, NO MORE!

And the me who emerged was stronger, more confident, and more beautiful than she ever knew or believed herself to be.

 

What had been meant for harm, God used for my good.

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” ~Romans 8:28 NIV
This was our message at church on Sunday — God can and does use everything we walk through in this life for our good. We may not be able to see it at the time but every little event we walk through is the catalyst for the next thing which ultimately brings about goodness in our lives.
 
And usually it is hard to see the big picture because we are so caught up in the little things. Just like the surreal scene which unfolded in my life eight years ago. While at the time it was difficult to see past that moment, I now look back on it and see how it was the beginning of many things which God would use for my good.
01 woman 505310301
The road can often feel treacherous but it’s during those times we develop into the person God intends for us. And it’s that road which God uses to bring goodness into our lives if only we will trust Him.
Blessings,
01amy-signature2
7 thoughts on “The true me

  1. What you shared here, Amy, is amazing. I love the quote on the image and the hard, beautiful, life-changing truth you shared here. In those moments of darkness and loss, it feels so unlikely, so impossible that anything good could come out of it. But here you are, a living testimony to the love, grace, goodness and restoration that God intends. For those who are in the midst of such a season, what you shared is so encouraging and overflowing with hope.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Cindy, for stopping by and the kind words.
      The words just flowed out late last night, something that hasn’t happened in a while.
      When it’s often at it’s darkest in our lives is when God is doing an amazing work even if we cannot see it. I love being able to encourage others as they walk a long, dark road similar to the one I did, and to be able to offer them a little ray of hope when it is hard for them to see even a glimmer of light up ahead. It is there, He is always there.

      Like

  2. I love the quote. I think it’s very true that we discover ourselves more as we go through hard times and find God in the midst of them. It’s so encouraging that he can take even our difficult circumstances and work them for our good. I think it’s often only as we look back that we are able to see that he was doing this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it’s often in the rear-view mirror in which we truly see the hand of God in our lives. And when we get those glimpses of how He was working in and through us in days gone by, hopefully we can remember those times as we look into the uncertain future before us knowing that just as He worked in the past, He will continue to be with us as we move forward.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Amy, I couldn’t agree with you more. I love that quote. I feel as though I have walked through the fire to get where I am at. I would never wish the problem on my children (mental illness), yet I found myself in the midst of it all. I became someone I like a heck of a lot more than the old me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for stopping by and sharing a bit of your journey! I’m glad brought you out of the fire more refined and beautiful than ever before.
      I agree, I like myself today much more than the old me and each day I’m excited to see what God has in store for me down the road!
      Blessings!

      Like

Leave a Reply

