Start walking, stop waiting

“We spend our days waiting for the ideal path to appear in front of us…but we forget that paths are made by walking…not by waiting.”
~author unknown

We’ve all been at a cross road in our lives and find ourselves wondering which way we should go, which way is the right way.

01 crossroads

Sometimes we wait at that cross road a long time hoping that a sign will magically appear showing us which way to turn. We want to make sure we are headed in the right direction, after all who enjoys making a wrong turn? But often we sit still too long. We stop moving. And you know what? When you’re standing still, you’re going nowhere. And when you are going nowhere, well, you are going nowhere. We wait and wonder why God isn’t leading us but until we step out He will not just move us.

Recently I was reading through the blog I started after my then-husband walked out in 2009 and I ran across this post written on the day I had finally decided it was time to stop waiting and time to finally step out into freedom. It was the day I decided to be brave and finally release an abusive marriage once and for all. It was the day I filed for divorce.

I had stood still for so long just waiting for something — validation? confirmation? — to finally push me forward, to propel me to start moving.

Why did I wait so long? Did I really think he was going to change? Or was I just scared?

I truly had known for a long time I needed to let go and move on. I had no hope that things were ever going to get better and it wasn’t because of a lack of faith, it was because nothing ever changed. Not for years. No matter what I did, things never changed. But deep inside I did worry my faith maybe wasn’t big enough or I hadn’t allowed God the time He needed to change things — as if He needed me to do what He would do! Ha! And it was those deceptive thoughts which kept me from moving forward.

Until one day I knew that in order to move into a new life it was necessary to release the old. While I was stuck waiting in the past for who-knows-what the future was moving on by.

01 woman 505310301

This post, Moving Forward, shares my thoughts of the day I was finally ready to step out into a new life.

Enjoy!

Blessings!

01amy-signature2

2 thoughts on “Start walking, stop waiting

  1. Sometimes it is hard to know what to do when we are at a crossroads. There are times when we may need to wait, but so often we are too afraid to move forward, to let some things go. When we finally do there is such peace. I pray that God will give us wisdom to know when to wait and when to move forward. Blessings to you! I’m visiting from #CoffeeForYourHeart.

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Gayl! Yes, it can be difficult to know what to do when at a crossroad so the best we can do is to pray diligently for God to give us clear direction while we step out in faith. He will always redirect our steps if necessary and provide direction when we listen for Him.
      Blessings!

      Like

Leave a Reply

