True love

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.” ~1 Cor 13:4-8

In 2009 my ex walked out. He left the day before Valentine’s Day seven years ago. I wrote this post last year as I finally found healing.

What he had meant for harm towards me — for it certainly was no act of love — would turn out to be the best thing that ever happened to me.

Today on this Valentine’s day I was thinking about what it truly means to love someone, especially a spouse.

I think the best advice for loving our spouse comes from 1 Corinthians 13:4-8. If we made love, especially God’s love, the cornerstone of our marriages what a beautiful love story we would have to tell.

01 a heart

Seven years ago I was set free from an unloving, abusive marriage. That marriage was not honoring to God. It was actually a disgrace. But good almost always comes out the trials we walk through in this life even if we cannot see it at the time. And today I have the greatest gift in this world — true love.

I am so thankful Every.Single.Day for how God loves me despite all my faults and shortcomings, and I’m grateful for being given another chance to know what true love in marriage looks like.

Love is the greatest thing we can give to one another. Without love we have nothing.

How are you living out the love in your marriage? Is your marriage honoring to God? Please know that if you live with abuse there is no love, for love does not delight in evil or cause harm intentionally. Love is patient, kind and forgiving. Love never fails.

May you know the real meaning of love:

“For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life.For God did not send the Son into the world to judge the world, but that the world might be saved through Him…” ~John 3:16

Blessings!

01amy-signature2

 

 

2 thoughts on “True love

  1. Amy, these words jumped out at me: “If we made love, especially God’s love, the cornerstone of our marriages what a beautiful love story we would have to tell.” Amen! God’s love makes all the difference. The more we receive it into our hearts and share lovingly with our spouse, the more we will grow in love toward Him and toward one another. I am already learning so much about the richness of God’s love this year because ‘love’ is my given focus word for 2016. It is stretching me in the best ways possible as God reveals better ways to walk in love in every area of life. And I have a sneaking suspicion it will be my major focus for the rest of my life. Thank you for enriching my experience with your words here. Blessed to be your neighbour at #coffeeforyourheart 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

