The unexpected…

is often a blessing in disguise.  Or sometimes it is simply Grace being poured out in plain sight.

grace

Often without warning, without a big fanfare it just happens — Grace appears — and maybe even brings a little smile to our face.  Sometimes it even speaks loud and clear to us.

Do you ever feel small, insignificant, troubled, dismayed, scared, weak or just too troubled to go on?  Yeah?  Maybe the better question is:  “Have you ever NOT felt that way?”

“But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” ~2 Cor 12:9-10

Often times what we need is right in front of us — and sometimes every.single.time we just need to open our eyes to it.  Grace most often appears when we feel at our weakest, when we feel lost and when we feel hopeless.

Grace is sufficient.  Grace gives us strength in the midst of our weakness.

Grace is always there. It is ours for the taking.

And sometimes, just sometimes…Grace appears when we least expect it, in the most unlikely places.

1560375_10152690479103674_1654896607399596274_n

May His Grace cover all those flaws we so easily see in ourselves so that His beauty can shine through each one of us.

Blessings!

cropped-summer-woman-field314.jpg
Amy

 

 

 

 

 

BTW…the picture at the top is what appeared when I lifted off the wooden letters I had spray painted for my kitchen. My son thought it was so cool looking he immediately took a picture and said, “there is GRACE when you least expect it!” He then proceeded to tell me I needed to make it my Facebook cover picture. You never know what you’ll find underneath it all!

9 thoughts on “The unexpected…

  1. I needed this today … still don’t know whether to laugh or cry … or what the Lord is showing me in what happened today?? Laugh or cry?? I shall continually praise HIM, the Lord God Almighty!!

    Like

    1. Thank you for stopping by. I’m glad my words spoke to you today. When I saw the word GRACE on the plywood last night I felt someone speaking to me and needed to share. And go ahead — laugh AND cry! I believe that through all that happens in our lives it’s God’s way of pulling us back to Him. We may not understand why something happens but perhaps we don’t need to at the moment — we just need to remember His Grace is sufficient through it all. 🙂
      Blessings!

      Like

      1. Thank you Amy …. I’m being humbled; I don’t understand why I am emotionally abandoned by husband, adult children and some whom claim to be “in Christ”, however I have never thought of myself as anyone more special that I certainly should never suffer. It’s still painful:-( and very overwhelming.

        Like

    1. I don’t have time to talk more but I really covet your prayers. I am feeling so tired. My husband has not been physical (as the world would define it) and doesn’t yell … there was sexual abuse earlier and has taken on a different form. For years his indifference and insinuating we are ‘married on paper’ has taken a heavy toll emotionally. After kicking me out last year and then relenting after a month; only because others in his small hometown were discovering what had happened … He said I could stay but told the counselor that he can not change and will not make any more promises of “change” … so it is up to me NOW to decide if I can tolerate living with him. Such a cunning tactic:-( I feel pushed out of a house and am presently physically weak as well. He says he can accept living as room mates. I spent years making him look like the perfect Christian home school dad … WHY aren’t others who have discovered the lie we have been living reaching out and wanting to ‘talk to him’?? Where are the Christian leaders who should care about his soul since he has now said that he and the adult children are not truly saved so I should NOW not expect much from him or the daughters (he has admitted to his relationship with the daughters and son-in-laws is more important than with me; if I don’t want to just “get along with them”) … This is after years of emotional abuse at the hands of him and extended family. AND NOW, after years of not wanting to visit with anyone – he is now looking like a very friendly man and going out visiting without me — now that I can’t stand to live the lie and be seen publicly with him:-( Why are my daughters accepting this?? They know he will never question them and they have turned their backs on Christ. They know he is the one who has sinned. Sorry for rambling … I must go. I have legal papers to fill out but just feel so confused and can’t seem to concentrate and get it done. Please pray for the Lord to make it very clear to me as to what I should do? Someone will have to physically come and move me out as I have not the stamina to do so on my own. Thank you immensely for caring. IN CHRIST, Beverley Wilson, Flin Flon, Manitoba, Canada Date: Tue, 19 Aug 2014 22:51:55 +0000 To: bevanne@mymts.net

      Like

      1. Dear Beverley,
        I am praying for you to receive clear direction from the Lord…and peace in whatever direction it takes you.
        I do not have a lot of time right now either but would say that sometimes while we are waiting to hear from the Lord we may miss Him already talking to us. For years I used to sit and wait and just know that He would make it so crystal clear to me what to do — and now, as they say, hindsight is 20-20. I can clearly see today all the ways in which the Lord was speaking to me and leading me in those very dark years, I guess I was just expecting some neon flashing sign pointing the way and instead He spoke loud and clear through people He brought into my life and books and other resources.

        You dear sister are wonderfully and fearfully made. May you walk today in all God’s glory, holding your head high and not doubting you are the daughter of our King.

        Please feel free to email me if you would like to connect more. Or comment here again too which is fine.

        Blessings!

        BTW, here are a few sites I would recommend:
        http://www.leslievernick.com/blog
        http://cryingoutforjustice.wordpress.com/
        http://hurtbylove.com/

        Like

        1. I’ve connected to all the sites you recommended and have done some counselling with Leslie Vernick as well. It’s still very overwhelming as at my age it is difficult to be employable and move on and really don’t have a strong local support system … I don’t want to burden others as many seem very busy with their own lives.
          Presently, even though I am “in Christ” I really have lost my sense of identity in serving the Lord as a wife, mother, grandmother as these are the ones who have pushed me away.
          Faithfulness to raising my family and defending the true Gospel has meant I don’t have many friends and local churches have not been very supportive of victims …

          Like

          1. Your statement about losing your sense of identity really resonated with me. When my ex left me after 20 years of marriage I suddenly was trying to figure out who I was. It felt as if my whole identity for all those years was suddenly gone — although I was still a mother which I suppose did help me keep going. But suddenly I was no longer the stay-at-home-homeschooling mom. I had become a middle aged woman who no one wanted to hire and yet needed desperately to get a job.

            I have probably seen your posts on Leslie’s site and maybe the others as well. I am sorry for the struggle in your life. It is especially difficult when our children turn away from us and the church does not offer more support or any in some cases.

            I will definitely keep you in my prayers and please stay connected so I know how you are.

            Blessings!

            Like

Leave a Reply

